Chrismons and Chrismon Patterns

A Chrismon is a Christian symbol representing Jesus Christ.

A term Chrismon comes from the Latin phrase “Christi monogramma” which means “monogram of Christ”.

They are often used on Christmas Trees in Churches and Christians homes. They are also used for Christmas decorations.

Chrismons are traditionally coloured white and gold.

White being the the liturgical (or Church) colour for Christmas and symbolises that Jesus was pure and perfect, while Gold symbolises His Majesty and Glory.

Below are some symbols that are common Chrismons and what they represent to Christians.

Chrismon Patterns :

Cross :


The Cross symbolises that Christians believe Jesus Christ died for everyone on a Cross. It represents the kind of cross on which Jesus was crucified.

Latin Cross :


The Latin Cross sometimes also known as the Roman Cross has three steps at the base of the Cross. These three steps symbolise faith, hope, and love.

Celtic Cross :


The Celtic Cross also known as the Irish Cross is a normal cross with a circle in the top centre which symbolises eternity.

Triumphant Cross :


The Triumphant Cross also known as Cross with Orb represents the earth with the cross on top. It symbolises Jesus is triumphant over anything we can face in the world.

Jerusalem Cross :


The Jerusalem Cross was worn by the crusaders going to Jerusalem, in the middle ages. The Jerusalem Cross can symbolise the Four Gospels in the Bible, the spread of the Gospel to the four corners of the earth or the five wounds of Jesus when he died on the cross.

Byzantine or Eastern Cross :


The Byzantine Cross also known as Orthodox or the Eastern Cross is used by many Eastern or Orthodox Churches. The cross has three horizontal crossbeams — the top represents the plate inscribed with INRI, and the bottom, a footrest.

Furca Cross :

chrismon-y cross

The Furca or Upsilon Cross comes from the Greek letter Y. It is also called The Thieves’ Cross from the two robbers who were crucified on each side of Jesus. It also symbolises the choice between good and evil.

Anchor Cross :


The Anchor Cross reminds Christian’s that Jesus is the anchor of their faith. It also symbolises ‘fresh start’ or ‘hope’. It was used by early Christians as a symbol of their faith when they had to avoid recognition as Christians in order to avoid persecution.

Brazen Serpent on a Tau Cross :

Brazen Serpent Cross

Brazen Serpent on a Tau Cross is a cross with a snake wrapped around it at the top. It is a well known image for Christians because of its use by Jesus in the Gospel of John.  It refers to John 3:14, “As Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, so must the Son of Man be lifted up”.

Fish :


The Fish is one of the oldest Christian symbols. IXOYE is Greek for Jesus Christ, God’s Son and spells the Greek word “Fish”.  It should also be notes that some of Jesus’ disciples were fishermen.

Alpha and Omega :


Alpha and Omega are the first and the last letters of the Greek alphabet. The Alpha and Omega stands for Christ who says “I am the beginning and the end, the first and the last”

Chi-Rho :


The Chi-Rho looks like a ‘P’ with an ‘X’ on top of it. These two letters are the first two letters of the Greek word ‘Christos’ which means Christ.

Five Pointed Star :


A Five Pointed Star represents the five wounds of Jesus on the cross.

Star of Creation or Six Point Star :


The  Star of Creation also known as the Six Point Star (Hexagram) or the Star of David is a symbol that Jesus was a Jew and a descendant of King David. The hexagram may be found in some Churches and stained-glass windows.

Eight Pointed Star :


The Eight Pointed Star symbolizes regeneration through Baptism.

Nativity Star :


The Nativity Star is the symbol of the Star of Bethlehem or Epiphany, when the Three Wisemen visited Jesus.

Crown :


The Crown is the symbol that Jesus in King of Kings. It shows that Christians believe Jesus is ruler over heaven and the earth.

Staff :


The Staff or the Shepherd’s Crook reminds us that Jesus sometimes called himself a shepherd. It also represents the shepherds who were the first people told about the birth of Jesus.

Triquerta :


Triquetra is made of three loops making a triangle representing the three parts of the trinity. This symbol has been used by Christians as a sign of the Blessed Trinity (Father, Son and Holy Spirit).

Trefoil :


Similar to Triquerta, the Trefoil is made of three equal circles intertwined to form a whole. This symbol has been used by Christians as a sign of the Blessed Trinity (Father, Son and Holy Spirit).

Hands in Prayer :


Hands in Prayer reminds all Christians that they should pray to God.

Scroll :


The Scroll represents the first five books in Bible.

Descending Dove :


The Dove is the symbol of peace and the Holy Spirit. In Christianity Descending Dove represents the Holy Spirit that appeared as a Dove when Jesus was baptised.

Lamp :


The Lamp represents that Christians believe Jesus is the Light of the World. Lamp is also a symbol for Wisdom and Knowledge.

Candle :


The Candle represents that Christians believe Jesus is the Light of the World. Candle is also used as a symbol for Wisdom and Knowledge.

Shell :


The Shell is a symbol used to represent baptism. It is also a sign of Pilgrimage, as Pilgrims to the Holy Land (Israel) would use a shell as a vessel for drinking water.

Ship :


The Ship was an ancient Christian symbol for Church. It was said that Ship represented represents Holy Mother Church upon the high seas of life, sailing towards heaven.

Cup or Chalice :


The Cup or Chalice is a symbol of the Mass, Eucharist or Communion. It also represents God’s forgiveness.

Angel :


The Angel reminds Christians of the angels who told the shepherds about the birth of Jesus. It can also represent the second coming of Jesus, which according to the bible will start with an Angel blowing a trumpet.

Lamb :


In Christianity, Lamb is the symbol for Jesus who is sometimes called ‘The Lamb of God’.

Butterfly :


In Christianity, Butterfly is the symbol for transformation and the immortal soul.

Lion :


In Christianity, Lion is the symbol for Jesus who is sometimes called ‘The Lion of Judah’.

White Rose :


In Christianity, White Rose is the symbol for purity and can represent Mary.

Heart :


In Christianity, Heart is the symbol of love and reminds Christians that God is love.